

56TH ANNUAL **HAYS PRESS-ENTERPRISE** LECTURE



THE PRESS-ENTERPRISE PEcom

Inland Southern California's News Source



Ari Shapiro is an award-winning anchor of NPR's "All Things Considered," one of the most listened-to radio news programs in the United States, as well as a host of NPR's daily afternoon news podcast, "Consider This."

Ari has reported from above the Arctic Circle and aboard Air Force One. He has covered wars in Iraq, Ukraine, and Israel, and he has filed stories from five continents and most of the 50 states. Before becoming a host, he was NPR's international correspondent based in London. Shapiro took on that role after four years as White House Correspondent during the Obama presidency. In 2012, he embedded with the presidential campaign of Republican Mitt Romney. He was NPR's justice correspondent for five years during the George W. Bush administration.

His work has been consistently recognized by his peers. He has won three national Edward R. Murrow awards. He was named "Journalist of the Year" in 2023 by NLGJA, the association of LGBTQ+ journalists.

56TH ANNUAL **HAYS PRESS-ENTERPRISE** LECTURE

MONDAY, APRIL 21, 2025

Welcome and Introductions

KIM WILCOX Chancellor, UC Riverside

"An Evening Lecture with Ari Shapiro"

ARI SHAPIRO Host of NPR's "All Things Considered"

Q&A

ALEX ESPINOZA Tomás Rivera Endowed Chair of Creative Writing, UC Riverside

PAST HAYS PRESS-ENTERPRISE LECTURERS

1966 Louis M. Lyons, Retired Curator, Nieman Foundation, Harvard Univ.

1967 John B. Oakes, Editorial Page Editor, The New York Times

1968 Wes Gallagher, General Manager, The Associated Press

1969 Sir Denis Hamilton, Editor-in-Chief & Chief Executive, Times Newspapers Ltd. London

1970 Osborn Elliott, Editor-in-Chief, Newsweek

1971 Howard K. Smith, Commentator, ABC News

1972 Tom Wicker, Associate Editor & Columnist, The New York Times

1973 Katharine Graham, President, The Washington Post Company

1974 Elie Abel, Dean, Columbia University, Graduate School of Journalism

1975 James Reston, Columnist, The New York Times

1976 Warren H. Phillips, President, Dow Jones & Co.

1977 Richard C. Wald, President, NBC News

1978 George F. Will, Syndicated Columnist

1979 John Hughes, Editor, The Christian Science Monitor

1980 Norman E. Isaacs, Chairman,The National News Council

1981 Richard S. Salant, Vice Chairman, Board of Directors of NBC

1982 Cushrow R. Irani, Chairman, The International Press Institute

1983 Eugene C. Patterson, Editor and President, St. Petersburg Times

1984 1985 Donald E. Graham, Publisher, The Washington Post

Louis D. Boccardi, President & General Manager, The Associated Press

1986 Donald Trelford, Editor, The Observer of London

1987 Vermont Royster, Editor Emeritus, The Wall Street Journal

1988 C.K. McClatchy, Editor & Chairman, McClatchy Newspapers

1989 James K. Batten, President/CEO, Knight Ridder, Inc.

1990 Everette E. Dennis, Executive Director, Gannett Center/Media Studies

1991 David Broder, Columnist & Political Correspondent, The Washington Post

1992 Geneva Overholser, Editor, The Des Moines Register

1993 C. Shelby Coffey, III, Editor & Executive Vice President, Los Angeles Times **1994 Tom Johnson,** President, Cable News Network

1995 William F. Woo, Editor, St. Louis Post Dispatch

1996 Gene Roberts, Managing Editor, The New York Times

1997 Benjamin Bradlee, Vice President, The Washington Post

1998 Tom Winship, Former Editor. The Boston Globe

1999 Gregory Favre, Vice President/News, The McClatchy Co.

2000 Clarence Page, Columnist, Chicago Tribune

2001 Bill Kovach, Chairman, Committee for Concerned Journalists

2002 Gail Collins, Editorial Page Editor, The New York Times

2004 Tom Curley, President/CEO, The Associated Press

2006 Karen House, Retired Publisher, The Wall Street Journal

2008 Frank A. Bennack, Jr., Vice Chairman, Hearst Corp.

2009 Walter Isaacson, President and CEO, The Aspen Institute

2010 Lawrence Wright, Author, Screenwriter, Playwright, and Staff Writer, The New Yorker magazine

2011 Jonathan Gold, Pulitzer-Prize Winning Food Critic for the LA Weekly

2012 Geneva Overholser, Professor and Director of USC Annenberg School of Journalism

2013 Davan Maharaj, Editor and Executive Vice President, Los Angeles Times Media Group

2014 Ray Suarez, Host of Al Jazeera America's daily program "Inside Story"

2015 Martin Baron, Executive Editor, The Washington Post

2017 Bill Keller, Editor-in-Chief, The Marshall Project

2018 Frank Bruni, Journalist, The New York Times

2019 Maria Hinojosa, News Correspondent & Journalist

2020 David Leonhardt, Op-Ed Columnist, The New York Times

2021 Nikole Hannah-Jones, Journalist, The New York Times

2022 Soledad O'Brien, Award-Winning Journalist, Entrepreneur and Host

2023 Kevin Merida, Executive Editor, Los Angeles Times

2024 Michael Barbaro, Podcast Host, New York Times